Sixty Sense Worth Please

She arrived this morning. Early. I heard her knocking at my door. The rapping was not frantic or urgent, but more like that of a friend who has dropped by to share exciting news.

I confess that I had been dreading this day. I had heard a lot about her, not all of it pleasant. With some uncertainty, I approached the front door and turned the knob.

There she stood, facing me expectantly. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. She was not using a cane, and her shoes were not orthopedic. Her outfit was quite stylish, and her hair was not blue. When she removed her sunglasses, I saw the twinkle in her eye.

I was unsure of how to greet her. I was hesitant to embrace her just yet, so I invited her to step inside to get out of the sun.

I think she sensed my reluctance to invite her all the way in. Very patiently she gave me the opportunity to get to know her a bit first.

As we chatted, I learned that she is easy to be with, very relaxed, and I began to feel more comfortable with her. She reminded me that I am quite fortunate to be able to entertain her, as several of my friends have not had the opportunity to do so. That won me over. I decided to embrace her.

Yes, Sixty arrived today. I finally invited her into the kitchen for a cup of coffee, and we began to make some plans. She is very congenial, and I am honored to have her as a companion. With her, I can relax and be myself.

“Give me a hug, girlfriend, and let’s get a move on,” she said.  “I’m ready to go for a walk.”

“Where to?” I asked.

With a smile and a wink, she answered, “Anywhere you want!”

I will be back next week. Sixty and I are headed out to the Weekend to celebrate Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness!

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in Sixty Sense and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sixty Sense Worth Please

  1. Jan Golden says:

    WOW! You are sounding more and more like a novelist! What a great way to embrace the next decade…it gives us “slightly younger friends” encouragement. Have a great birthday, my friend!

  2. Mary Nell says:

    Jan, my dear friend, the road you are paving is wonderful. What a creative, intelligent piece. Happy Birthday, Churchyard Chick!

  3. Patti says:

    You are paving the road ahead! I love it.

    • janhamlett says:

      Let’s see, when you turn 60, I will be . . . Yikes!!! “I won’t think about that today . . . I’ll go crazy if I do . . . I’ll think about that tomorrow.”

Leave a Reply

