Listening for Snow

“Look! It’s snowing!”

“Seek and you will find.”

Snow . . .

Unlike her cousin Rain . . .

Is not loud and noisy.

She doesn’t send staff

(Thunder and Lightning)

To announce her.

She doesn’t wake us in the night

By pounding on the window.

Quietly but elegantly . . .

She makes her appearance.

Wordlessly . . .

She captures our attention . . .

If we are watching.

Had her arrival not been predicted by those who know . . .

She would have taken us by surprise.

We would have never known she was there.

If we listen for Snow . . .

We won’t know.

We have to look.

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in Surprises and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Listening for Snow

  1. patlaster says:

    Wow! How lucky to accidently find your blog. I wanna follow it.

    • Jan Hamlett says:

      Aw, Pat, thanks! I appreciate your reading and liking! I am honored that you want to follow, but I have to warn you that I might have “stepped in something,” as they say. 🙂 Also, I have not been keeping it up for quite some time. A while back, it seemed to come to a natural end point, and at the same time I became preoccupied with my grandbabies. I miss it, though, not only for the writing but also for the connection it provided with those who took time to read it. I greatly appreciate your comments and your wanting to read more. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

