Sounds of Time *

Clock

Image via Wikipedia

Watching American Idol with his young friend, Mr. Sixty remarked, “This contestant never heard a Beatles song?  Unbelievable!”

“Who?”

“The Beatles, you know . . .  John, Paul, George and Ringo.”

“Never heard of them.”

“Why, I bet they never heard of Cher either.  My favorite of hers is ‘If I Could Turn Back Time’.  There’s been many a time I wanted to turn back the hands of time.”

“Hands?”

“You know, hands of a clock.”

“Clocks don’t have hands.  What are you talking about, turn them back?  I never heard of hands on a clock.”

“Never mind.  I need to make a call.  Would you dial the number for me?”

“Dial?  What do you mean?  I never heard of it.”

“Never mind.  Just turn on the light so I can see.  Please turn on the light.”

“I did.”

“Well, where is the light?  It’s too dim.  Wait . . . what kind of crazy bulb is that?  What happened to the real one?”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about.  This is the only kind there is.”

“You know, the incandescent, Mr. Edison’s idea, which, by the way, is the universal symbol for a bright idea.”

“Never heard of it.”

“Okay, then, just hand me a book to read.  I’ll try not to disturb you with the page-turning.”

“Page-turning?  Never heard of it.”

“Never mind.  What’s that noise?  Sounds like a tape rewinding.”

“I don’t know, but I never heard of tape rewinding.  How would you ever get it stuck back on that little roll the way it should be?  What a mess!”

“Never mind.  Let’s just turn off everything and listen to the peaceful tick-tock of the clock on the mantel.”

“Tick-tock?  Never heard of it.”

“You know, you’re beginning to sound like a broken record.”

“Huh?”

“Never mind.” 

* “I the Lord do not change.”  (Malachi 3:6)

Thank God!

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in Sixty Sense, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

