Seek and You Will (Eventually) Find

“Where’s the oatmeal?” asked my husband.  I had heard the rumblings in the pantry.  He always likes to try to find whatever he is looking for without asking, so I had not inquired as to the object of this latest search.  Finally he had given up.

“It’s in that vintage canister labeled Coffee,” I told him.  It was in plain view.

As he prepared his bowl of oatmeal, I shuddered to think of other conversations that might be in my future:

“Where’s the coffee?”

“In the unmarked canister next to the Coffee canister where I keep the oatmeal.”

“Where’s the popcorn?”

“In the Flour canister.”

“Where would I find the flour then?”

“In the large unmarked Tupperware canister with the blue lid.”

“Do we have tea?”

“In the cabinet with the medicine.”

“What’s this in the sugar bowl?”

“Vitamins.”

“Do we have any hot cocoa mix?”

“In that biscuit tin beside the turquoise Dip bowl with the tea tongs in it.”

“Biscuit tin?  Do we have biscuits?”

“Are you kidding?”

“I need some printer paper.  Where would I find it?  Is it in the office?”

“Look in the lower kitchen cabinet right beside the paper-cutter and the hole-punch.”  Honestly!  Where else would it be?

“Are there cookies in the cookie jar?”

“No, that’s where I store the cookie-cutters, just in case I need them someday.”

“Do you want me to put these shoes back in the closet?”

“Shoes?  Oh, no, that shoebox is where I keep my favorite cd’s.”

“I’m looking for a pen.”

“There — in the votive holder.”

Just as I was trying to figure out where I had put the hammer in case he might ask, he interrupted my thought processes by telling me we needed to go to the IRS office with our tax info.  He was saying, “On their website is a list of things we have to bring with us.  We have to take our social security cards.  Where is yours?”

“You know, I saw that card just the other day.  Give me a minute and let me think.  I can just envision it.  It was in an odd place.”

Imagine that!

“Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value” (Proverbs 31:11).

He just needs to learn where to look!

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in The Coop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

