Bloom Already

You can't hurry roses.

One year ago today (I see from my unfinished drafts), I wrote this title.  When I clicked on, I saw only the title.  No notes.  No rough draft.  I saw nothing but the title, which made me reflect upon the reason I wrote it. 

Seeing buds and waiting for them to bloom is frustrating and sometimes exasperating.  I think it must have been Rose of Sharon that I was so impatient to see flower.  Or it could have been Red Rose.  I don’t remember which.  It doesn’t matter.

Whatever I have to wait for, I get impatient over.   Last summer was hot and dry, just as it is now.  My tomatoes were not well, and they had been invaded by pests.  My flowers wilted, and the grass died.  I blogged about “no figs on the fig tree.”  Etc. Etc. Etc.  Waiting is just not my thing.

Given to justification for my ways, I pondered how I could align my impatience with scripture.  I happened to think, “Maybe ‘waiting’ in the Biblical sense means ‘serving’, like a waiter in a restaurant.  ‘They that wait upon the Lord . . .’  Maybe that means doing something.”  I looked it up.  I even went to the Greek/Hebrew (whichever it was for that verse), hoping it meant something besides just waiting.  After all, just waiting is so boring and tiresome.  Alas, my “server” idea was incorrect.  Waiting meant waiting.

I don’t remember exactly about last July 12th, but I do remember that in October, after I had left them for dead, my tomato plants decided to surprise me with quite an abundance.  And on Mother’s Day of this year, when I glanced toward the fence, I was surprised by a sweet bouquet of roses delivered by Red Rose herself. And just this morning, a shimmering green hummingbird hovered around the multitude of Rose of Sharon blossoms before flying very close to where I was sitting so he could inspect (and reject) the pink geranium.

Paul explained it this way in his letter to the Romans:  “But hope that is seen is no hope at all.  Who hopes for what he already has?  But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently” (8:24,25). 

You can’t hurry tomatoes.  You can’t hurry roses.  You can’t hurry God.

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in Surprises, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

