Hide and Seek

“I’m in here, Aunt Jan.”  It was the voice of my little nephew coming from the closet.

I already knew where he was hiding, but I had been calling out loudly, “Where is Jonathan?  Where could he be?  I don’t know if I will be able to find him; he’s hidden himself so well.”  Etc. Etc.  Those who have played the old familiar game with their favorite little ones know the drill.

It reminded me of the way I myself used to hide from my daddy as he pretended he did not see my feet sticking out from under the living room curtains.

Hearing my nephew’s plaintive little voice touched my heart and made me smile.  He wanted to be found.  Immediately, I went to the closet, opened the door, “found” him, and gave him a hug.

Today is Jonathan’s birthday; he is twenty-one.  Even after all this time, I still smile when I think of that episode.

Maybe sometimes we hide from God, all the while secretly hoping he will seek.  Fortunately, he always does.  Our Father already knows where we are, but how it must touch his heart and make him smile when he hears one of us calling, “I’m in here, Lord.”

“The Lord is near to all who call on him” (Psalm 145:18a).

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

