Ever Since Eve

“Adam, get in here!  How many times have I asked you not to leave these bloody clubs lying around?”

“Sorry, I will try to remember next time.”

“What if someone drops in unexpectedly?  The preacher likes to show up unannounced, you know.”

“I was tired.  Give me a break.  I’m out all day trying to eke out an existence and hunt down food.  When I come home, I just need to relax.  What have you been doing all day?”

“Cleaning, cleaning, cleaning — all I do is clean around here.  Please try to be more considerate.  The least you could do is pick up your Fig Leaf briefs and that precious Land’s Beginning fur vest once in a while.  You just leave them tossed here and there like some caveman!  What would the neighbors think?”

What neighbors?”

“Don’t change the subject!  You know, just because God made you from dirt doesn’t mean you have to live in it!”

“What else is there?”

“Good grief!  I have to go have a talk with God.”

“Hey, Lord, I thought my punishment for eating that apple was pain in childbirth.  What is all this other about?  All this cleaning up after Adam and all the living?  Day in and day out, it is never-ending.  Why can’t they learn to pick up after themselves?”

“I have to hand it to you, Eve . . . you’ve got me on that one.”

(C. C. wishes to acknowledge that this post was inspired by the exasperated cluckings of a friend.  That chick’s identity will not be revealed by C. C. even under threat of being cooped up and imprisoned by chicken wire.  In order to ensure her own silence, she has had her beak sealed with duck-tape for the time being.  If the source wishes to step forward, C. C. would welcome her to do so in the comment section.  Otherwise, her secret is safe.  It’s a chick thing.) 

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in Cluckings, Dirt, The Coop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ever Since Eve

  1. JAN says:

    Ok, it was me….I confess! Although I don’t remember clucking to you about this issue. I love the reference to the clothing store…Land’s Beginning…very clever of you, little chickie!

  2. Jan Hamlett says:

    Thanks! And let the record show . . . this confession was not coerced. (The line for the confessional is growing, although not everyone is willing to go public.) Thanks for reading!!!

Leave a Reply

