Laying It on the Line

Fig Tree

Image via Wikipedia

At last count, Churchyard Chick Goes Free Range had garnered 3,999 views.  Perhaps your click was number 4,000!  Thank you for choosing to spend a few moments of your time with me today.

I have no clue how that number ranks in the Blogosphere.  I know that, to me, it is both amazing and humbling.  My purpose in writing is to encourage others on this journey of faith as I myself have been encouraged.  What a trip!

I won’t bore you with the details, but the past two years have comprised a leg of that journey that has taught me many lessons.

When we found ourselves “out of the fold” a couple of years ago, stunned and injured by, of all things, church, God Himself took care of us.  He provided for us in miraculous ways.  Just when we thought there would be no more, there was more.  He taught us that He is our source; we can depend on Him.

Jesus, The Good Shepherd, has taught me to keep my eyes on Him in my faith journey.  He and he alone is the one to follow.  I have learned to listen for His voice in the darkness.  He is always there.

And then there is The Holy Spirit.  He whispers.  If there is too much “noise” in my life, I can’t hear Him.  Only when I tune in and keep still, can I catch His wisdom.

I will share with you this story:  I had been praying for better times, keeping hope alive that “something” would come along.  One day, it was as if God said, “What if this IS it?  What if this IS as good as it gets?”  That was startling.  If God chose not to “bless” us, would I still believe?

That’s when I decided.  I would not lose my faith, even if God chose to keep us where we were.  Then I found Habbakuk, with his complaints and prayers, ending with this:  “Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.  The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights” (Habakkuk 3:17-19).

And there it was — the most important lesson of all:  God is worthy of praise, not because of what he does, but just because HE IS.

At the end of that chapter was this note:  “For the director of music.  On my stringed instruments.”  Why do I include this?  My husband is a choir director.

I cannot speak for others.  I only know what God has done for us.  He has brought us through.  He has never abandoned us.  He has chosen to favor us at this time with new sources of income and new places of service.  He is to be trusted.

I will never stop praising Him.

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in Cluckings, Deep Water, Foxes, GPS, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Laying It on the Line

  1. JAN says:

    What a beautiful testimony and a great reminder to all of us of God’s unfailing love for us! You are my hero, Sister Holy Jan!

    • Jan Hamlett says:

      Just remember the old adage: “Don’t follow me ’cause I stepped in somethin’.” By the way, you, of all people, should know what a misnomer “SHJ” is! I am just one of the pitiful, disheveled, silly little sheep trying to follow the Good Shepherd and not fall off the path! Thanks for your comment. I do appreciate it (and you)! Thanks for being such a wonderful friend.

  2. K says:

    You do inspire! Thanks for your clarity of vision.

  3. I have been so blessed by your blog. Thank you for pushing your insights out into the blogosphere so that we all can learn from what He is teaching you!! Blessings to you and yours today.

    • Jan Hamlett says:

      Thanks so much! I do appreciate your reading and commenting. I am so happy to know that you have been blessed; that lets me know that I am doing what God is leading me to do in sharing what He puts on my heart. Thanks for your encouragement! I hope all is well for you and your family. God is God, always has been, always will be, thanks be to God.

Leave a Reply

