Sounds Like a Plan

“Let’s lay down and look at the sun.”

That’s what the boy said.  He was about nine or ten, I guess.  He and his bud, who looked a bit older, had been “chillin’ ” on the back bumper of a car in a driveway.  As I walked toward them, the older one whispered to the younger, and then the younger one grinned and said, “Hi!”  I think they must have really been bored.

“Hi there,” I replied.  They looked at each other and giggled.  Maybe they had a bet as to whether I would answer, or maybe the older had dared the younger to speak.  I don’t know what goes through the heads of boys, regardless of their age.

At any rate, I had just been thinking what a pity it was that Eve probably never witnessed that fruit tree with its fall foliage.  Part of her punishment, I suppose.  The sun, despite being partially obscured by a thin cloud, was spotlighting the red, yellow, and orange trees on my street, and what a show it was today!  Bravo, God!

Prior to taking my walk, I had brought a sweater to the laundry room and was preparing to find all its colored cohorts in order to “do a load.”  I guess it had slipped my mind that this is the “day off” God gave us.  However, I looked at the clock and discovered it was later than I thought it was.  Our return to “regular time” had shortened my afternoon.  I decided to walk before the evening slipped up on me.

As I returned to my musings about poor Eve, the two friends decided to cross the street.  That’s when I heard the voice behind me saying, “Let’s lay down and look at the sun.”

“Sounds like a plan,” I thought, smiling at the kid’s faulty grammar in spite of myself.  Ahhh . . . the simple joys of the carefree.  I remember those days . . . looking for shapes in the clouds, stringing clover necklaces, and “pumping” in a swing until I went so high I almost scared myself.

Drinking in the loveliness of this Sabbath Day, I decided to postpone the laundry, grab my camera and capture some of the color of the season.  And now, with the last vestiges of the day fast approaching, I am about to make myself a cup of tea and go sit on the patio for a while.  Mr. Sun is showing Mother Nature in her best light.

Can I remember how to feel carefree?  Can I lay my burdens down?  Just for a day?  I’m going to give it my best shot.  Maybe my week — maybe everyone’s week — would go a little bit better if we all took a day to “lay down” and look at the Son.

Sounds like a plan.

“The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath” (Mark 2:27).

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

