Finishing School

I only heard of Finishing School.  I never attended.  If I had, I probably would not have finished.

Finishing things that I start seems awfully difficult.  For example, what is wrong with this picture (frame)?  If you look closely, you will see that, although the collage frame is in fact hung on the wall, something is missing: the family photos!  I have two of them; the other has been completed.  Why is this one unfinished?

I blame the Chinese.

I remember when the Russians vowed to destroy us from within.  Now I believe that the Chinese are trying to annoy us from within.  First there was the honey bear whose inner lid was molded altogether as one piece and whose cap would not screw off.  I named him “Secret Asian Man” and vowed that he would not live to see tomorrow.  (We did, in fact, finally have to cut him.)  Then there was the (im)mobile laptop cart, which now is serving as a side table because it was constructed in such a manner that “you could not use it with a chair, you could not use it on a stair; you could not use it on a dare; you could not use it anywhere!”  And don’t get me started on the candle sconces with slanted bases or the sewing gauge with the mismatched arrows.

But I digress.  Back to the project I called “Focus on the Family (Photos).”  This had been on the back burner for a long time.  Finally, while trolling for treasures at T. J. Maxx one fine day, I spotted the two collage frames.  They were just what I needed . . . and at half the price of some others I had seen.  With hope in my heart, I rushed home to begin.

The clever Chinese had packed the frames in a cardboard carton so that a person cannot see the backs in the store.  Only after unpacking and unstapling and ripping everything to shreds does one see the annoying fact that the entire back comes off in one piece.  All forty-eight little plastic twisty-things have to be undone in order to place even ONE photo in the group of twelve.

“Why is that such a problem?” you might be asking.

Because of DECISIONS, for Pete’s sake!  I have to decide on twelve photos that I want to be there FOREVER because I do not intend to EVER remove that back again once I have it in place.  I learned that lesson when I finally completed the FIRST one!

“Why is it hanging on the wall?”  you might also ask.

To remind me.  Of what?  To FINISH!

“Why don’t you just finish?”  you may be thinking.

I have any number of “reasons,” all of which I employ frequently:

I don’t have time.  My back hurts.  I have too many other things that need doing.  I haven’t decided yet exactly how I want to do it.  I need to write my blog.  (Obviously, I would much rather write about finishing than actually finish.)  None of these is valid.  I have to be honest.  I simply don’t FEEL like it.

I WILL get around to getting my pictures into the collage one day soon — maybe today.  I know I will be happy when I can say, “It’s finished.”

I am reminded of some words in Hebrews:  “the author and finisher of our faith.”   This is the only instance of the word “finisher” in Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance.  The One Great Finisher of all time declared, “It is finished.”

Jesus didn’t make excuses.  He didn’t blame others.  And thanks be to God — He didn’t wait until He felt like it.

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finishing School

  1. Jan Hamlett says:

    A footnote: I have to acknowledge my son for the term “Secret Asian Man.” When he was around three years old and had no choice but to listen to “oldies” on the radio, these are the words he sang when he heard Johnny Rivers’ “Secret Agent Man.”

  2. Jan Hamlett says:

    I FINISHED THIS PROJECT!!! I finished at 7:04 p.m. Central Time (regular, not daylight) on November 13, 2011. What an ordeal! I had forgotten that if even ONE of the little swivel thingy’s is not positioned JUST RIGHT, then the back WILL NOT come off! If I ever buy another Chinese collage frame, I will have lost my last marble!

Leave a Reply

