Open Letter to Non-Believers

Dear Friends,

A few years ago, in Rome, I marveled at the relics and icons that we viewed as we traveled the well-worn paths of pilgrims who had gone before us.  When we came to St. Peter’s tomb at the Vatican, I found myself wondering, “Is it really the tomb of St. Peter?”  I couldn’t help myself.  I was skeptical.

As we made our way around the city, coming to such sites as the church that displayed the very chains that had held St. Peter, I had the usual doubts.  I mentioned my skepticism as to the authenticity of such a claim to a friend and fellow traveler.  I asked, “Do you think it’s really true?”

I will never forget his answer:  “I don’t know, but what if it is?”  What a profound question.  Indeed, what if it is true?  How awesome that would be!

Tonight is a rainy night in our city.  The darkness has settled over our house with a gloomy oppressiveness that is hard to shake.  Suddenly, I have an idea.  I will begin putting out my Christmas stuff.  Not the big Christmas tree, but just the little pre-lit trees I put in my two front windows.  “Just what we need,” I thought, “a little light to shine in the darkness.”

Christ — the light of the world. 

When Jesus came into the world, it was hardly a perfect world.  It was a world of darkness, oppression, and sin.  Much like today.  He offered hope, truth, and light.  Even then, he had very few takers.  Most were skeptical, I guess.  How could this be true?  They had their doubts.

To any doubters, skeptics, and outright non-believers out there in the gloomy darkness tonight, I am offering this challenge:  If you are as free a thinker as you claim to be, if you are as open-minded as you purport to be, if you are truly not bound by anything (including your own pre-conceived notions), then try this:  Doubt your doubts.

We believers accept that Christ entered the world as God incarnate in order to become our light, our salvation, and our redeemer.  We not only accept that “the Word became flesh and dwelt among us,” but also we cherish Jesus Christ as our hope for our future here on earth as well as in heaven.  We believe that our souls will have eternal life after leaving these mortal bodies behind.  Personally, I believe that we will be able to spend eternity in perfect harmonious connection with God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit.  Everything will be in sync . . . as it should be . . . perfect.  What could be more lovely than that?

“For God so loved the world that he gave his  one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life” (John 3:16).

and

“The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us” (John 1:14).

Let your intellect go exploring as you ponder the possibilities and ramifications.  Could it really be true?  You can decide for yourself.  But take a moment . . . just a moment . . .  to consider this:

What if it is?

Sincerely,

A Fellow Traveler

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Open Letter to Non-Believers

  1. theologigal says:

    Love the reminder doubt our doubts. Thanks for sharing.

  2. shesnosaint says:

    Brave post. Merry Christmas!

  3. Jan Hamlett says:

    Thanks for the word “brave.” I think that’s the first time that word has ever been applied to me! I guess it’s about time! Merry Christmas and God bless you and yours!

Leave a Reply

