A Constant Dripping

Without my input, my husband’s statements would, regrettably, go unchallenged.  For example, as we were walking this lovely spring morning, he remarked, “Dogwoods always bloom at Easter.”

“Well, that’s true only if your frame of reference is the entire season of spring, as in ‘Easter is in the spring, and dogwoods bloom in the spring.’  In fact, Easter is still more than two weeks away.  They’ll be done by then.”

Silence.

Upon observing a car with its recently installed windshield still taped (as it has been for at least a week), he remarked that the “guy” needs to take that tape off.  He said the same thing the last time we walked.

“Why does that bother you so much?”  I asked.  (I had just been asking him about umpteen boxes of music still stacked in the garage after four years.)

“I don’t know; it just does.  He needs to take it off.”

“I guess it’s not bothering him . . . or his wife . . . if he has one.  Maybe he doesn’t have a wife.  Poor fellow.”

Silence.

After a moment of thinking it over, he said, “Maybe not.  If he did, I’m sure she would be nagging him about it.”

” ‘Nagging’ has such a negative connotation.  I much prefer the word ‘encouraging.’ ”

“Okay . . . well . . . whatever . . . he needs to take the tape off.”

Today we are celebrating our wedding anniversary.  Thirty-seven years of these kinds of conversations.

You just gotta keep it interesting.

“He who finds a wife finds what is good and receives favor from the Lord” (Proverbs 18:22).

. . . but . . .

” . . . a quarrelsome wife is like a constant dripping” (Proverbs 19:13b).

Do you hear something???

About Jan Hamlett

Exploring faith outside the safety of Sunday
This entry was posted in Cluckings, Sixty Sense, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Constant Dripping

  1. Pingback: Dogwood Tree Legend | Gratitude is an Attitude!

  2. Lisa says:

    I thought I would let you know that after reading this last week I have made a more concious effort not to be that “drip”. Thank you for your words of wisdom. 🙂

    • Jan Hamlett says:

      I am extremely humbled by the fact that you used the phrase “words of wisdom.” Thank you so much for reading and for your feedback. I would be interested in hearing more about your effort and the results. I confess that I don’t make much of an effort. I just “drip on,” usually! That scripture always “nags” at me. 🙂
      God bless,
      Jan

      • Lisa says:

        Efforts and results… not as good as I had planned. I may need to call a plumber. 🙂 But still trying!!

  3. JAN says:

    All I can say to that is “Just call me dripper!”

Leave a Reply

